Sahara Sand on my Islington Balcony

There is still some sand residue on my balcony from the dust storm a few weeks ago, which seeded clouds orange and red and then rained down over the city.

I remember a similar thing happened a few years ago, but that time it was just the sky that changed colour, no rain that I remember to leave the sand in its wake.

There’s no invisible wall between London and the Sahara Desert. They are one ecosystem. All the categories we box things into, the air is the same air, it doesn’t need a passport to travel the world.
Reminded me of the dust storm I faced on my last day in Lviv during my recent journey there, which was blown in as a result of huge amounts of soil being kicked up from explosions in neighbouring areas. Luckily here as with the Sahara there was nothing in that air besides dust, no contamination or anything else to worry about. Just the reminder.

Leave a comment

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑